Marriage Licenses

This page is provided as a guide for Overseas visitors. Please visit the Official Orange County web site for up-to-date requirements.

For Non-Florida residents, you now have the option to arrange your Licence by Mail, prior to your arrival in Florida. This will save you time and worry.

Click here for details. You will be directed to our dedicated web site for Florida Marriage License by Mail.

Residency

You do not need to be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage licence. No minimum residency applies to overseas couples. (i.e. You are not required to be in Florida for a minimum number of days.)

Age

You should be 18 years and older to apply for a marriage licence.

Prior Marriage

Persons who were previously married and divorced need to bring their decree absolute with them to the courthouse as they will need to supply the date their last marriage ended.

Application and Fee

As a couple you have to apply for your marriage licence in person at the Orlando County Courthouse. Applications are accepted between 8am 4pm Monday to Friday, except for Bank Holidays. The current fee for a marriage licence is $93.50 Orange County, $103.50 Osceola County, payable by cash, Visa or MasterCard.

Courthouse Locations

There are two locations where you can obtain your marriage licence

  • Orange County Courthouse. 425 North Orange Avenue, Suite 355, (3rd floor) Orlando. Distance is approximately 20 minutes form International Drive / 35 minutes from Lake Buena Vista.
  • Osceola County Courthouse. 2 Courthouse Square, Suite 2000. Kissimmee. Distance is approximately 20 minutes from Disney area / 35 minutes from Highway 27 area.

Documentation required by the Courthouse

Couples will require the following necessary documents

  • Passports
  • Birth Certificates
  • Decree Absolute (if divorced)

    • And any other relevant paperwork such as change documents (widowers certificate, change of name etc).

      Cost is approximately $93.50 to $103.50 payable by cash or credit card (Visa / MasterCard).

      Failure to produce correct documentation may result in having to delay the wedding pending the correct documents being presented.

      The Marriage Licence

      The marriage licence is valid for 60 days from the day of issue. The Marriage licence has to be shown to the Notary or Minister prior to the ceremony, to ensure all legal requirements have been fulfilled. The Notary or Minister will then be responsible for posting the Marriage licence back to the courthouse to have it validated. This will become the official Marriage Certificate. This process should take between 4 6 weeks and will be posted directly back to the couple's home address.

      The Marriage Ceremony

      Once the Marriage licence has been obtained, couples can get married anywhere within the state of Florida. Witnesses to the marriage are not required.

      Certified copies

      Should couples wish to have additional certified copies of the Marriage Certificate, $2.50 per additional copy should be given to the Notary or Minister. The Notary or Minister will enclose the marriage licence in the envelope, which he/she will return to the courthouse for validation.

      Email Us

      Simply complete the online form to give us a guide to your requirements. We will then contact you to discuss your planned wedding in further detail.

      Brides Name:


      Grooms Name:


      Email Address:


      Telephone:


      Ceremony Location:
      Ceremony Date: (dd/mm/yy)


      Arrival Date: (dd/mm/yy)


      Departure Date: (dd/md/yy)


      Message:


      Call Wedding Villas Now On:
      +44 (0)1304 620042

Wedding Co-ordinator Wedding Locations Wedding Packages Marriage Licenses Limo Hire Flights Car Hire Catering Photographs Dress Hire Wedding Flowers Cake Design Hair